Pulitzer Prize for Drama – A rare and prestigious accolade

The Pulitzer Prize for Drama is one of seven American Pulitzer Prizes. They are awarded annually in the fields of literature, drama, and music. The deadline for the award of the best playwright is 1 April 2000, which is the calendar year set for most other Pulitzer Prizes. It recognizes a play that was performed in the United States during the preceding calendar years. 


The acting jury consists of one scientist and four critics, and the selection committee is abolished. In 1963, the committee selected “I’m Afraid of Virginia Woolf” for the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. 

Had Albee won the award, he would have tied Eugene O’Neill with four others for most Pulitzer Prizes in drama. The Pulitzer Prize Board announced the new guidelines for a 2006 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, a year in which live performances were upended by the expanding COVID-19 pandemic. 

New Rules Since 2021

The new rules, which will recognize works from the 2020 calendar year, will also include feature-length dramas where planned productions have been postponed or canceled, and shows premiered in virtual or non-virtual form. Eligible are works that opened nationwide before the cinemas close in March 2020. The spread of the COVID virus has not in any way dampened the creativity of our nation’s playwrights, nor has it closed our theaters. 

Year after year, we want to honor and continue to show the work that has been done, even when the audience is far away, “the PULITZER Prize panel and the National Theatre Council of Australia (NTCA) said in a joint statement. 

Recent winners

A Strange Loop, by Michael R. Jackson

Fairview, by Jackie Sibblies Drury

Cost of Living, by Martyna Majok

Sweat, by Lynn Nottage

Hamilton, by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Between Riverside and Crazy, by Stephen Adly Guirgis

We’ve covered most of the awards. Check more about the Olivier Awards, The Tonys, and the Drama Desk Awards!